Local Traffic Committee

Roads and Maritime Services (RMS) is the legislated organisation responsible for the control of traffic on all roads in New South Wales. Traffic is controlled by the installation of prescribed traffic control devices, such as regulatory signs or traffic control facilities.

RMS however delegates certain aspects of the control of traffic on Regional and Local Roads to the Councils of Local Government areas while RMS continues to manage State Roads. Traffic committees are a requirement of the delegation process. There are two types of traffic committees, Local and Regional. Further details on each are available from the RMS website:


Local Traffic Committee - Terms of Reference

The Roads and Traffic Authority publication "A guide to the delegation to Councils for the regulation of traffic - including the operation of Traffic Committees" provides details of the operations and the membership of the Local Traffic Committees (LTC).

A guide to the delegation to councils for the regulation of traffic

Byron Shire Local Traffic Committe membership

Councillor Representative(s):

NSW Police Representative

  • Snr Constable David Brigg

Roads & Maritime Services Representative

  • Alan Eichmann

Local State Member of Parliament (MP) or nominee

  • Hon Tamara Smith MP

Staff Contact:

  • Director Infrastructure Services 02 6626 7101
  • Traffic and Transport Assistant 02 6626 7073

2018 Meeting Dates:

16 January

20 March

15 May

17 July

18 September

20 November

Historical Committee meetings

Listed here are meetings prior to December 2014. Meetings after December 2014 are available on Meetings of Council .

18 November 2014
Report 270.07 KB
1 October 2014
Report 889.1 KB
6 August 2014
Report 289.93 KB
25 June 2014 10.30am
Report 1.16 MB
2 April 2014 12.00pm
Report 1.91 MB
5 February 2014 10.40am
Report 527.79 KB
+612 6626 7000
Full Website